SHE CHRONICLES: “Stones” a poem by Deana Verse

They say iron sharpens iron
discovered gratitude for the wrong way you grind against my existence
Just right enough to render me sharp samurai sword like against the white meat of discontent
I am a dull blade on purpose with you
Never understood the attacks festering beneath my tears
Never knew the demise i fathomed
Come true  of our union
I protect you fervently
Pray for the same incessantly
Ingesting disapointment like
Tequila shot
Jaws tight, teeth clenched
A familiar burn
They say
Constant bashing cracks the hardest of stone
I am a hidden vulnerable with you
Crepe paper under metal plate
 i cringe at the site of stones
Fists for stones
Tongues for stones
Eyes for stones
Your judgments  span the  entirety of senses
Sticks and stones crack Windows and souls
You  are toddler clumsy with my emotions…

Thrash about  apologetically  within my feelings then
Question my depression
Raging bull in a fine China boutique
I am floored
Every time you open your mouth
Ravaging polished hard wood for scattered pieces of self esteem like drug addict
Stuffing pockets full of self i cant possibly puzzle piece together by myself
You are toddler clumsy with my need for you
Your love
Your understanding
Your support
Head against brick wall bleeding
Fists pounding, feet stomping
Swallowing question marks like razor blades…
How can i expect something i have never received
Insanity…
Forgive me,
For my insanity
Again…
deanareed
Deana is a host, producer, event planner and writer living in Los Angeles.  The Ohio native remembers the day that a relentless depression pushed pen to pad resulting in her first poem.  Deana has hosted over 13 shows over the past ten years from charity events, fundraisers, music events and featured poetry shows.  She has been performing in the LA area for over 15 years and is considered a trailblazer for women performers, producers of poetry.
Leave a Reply

