AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: StacyMichelle, Poet

Was there any particular reason behind the creation of your chapbook?  If so, what?

This chapbook has been writing itself for a number of years now.  the motivation behind it was to peel back the covering and shine a light on the chasm an absent father can leave in his daughter’s life.  I wanted to display the painful truth & bewilderment, and also acceptance & forgiveness that starts the healing process.

How important is form, such as rhyme and line arrangement? How does form effect the overall art of a poem?
I focused on the arrangement of the lines instead of form for this collection.  I choose my line breaks with words that hopefully snatch the reader’s attention.
How important is the accessibility of a poem?
I know what the poem means to me; a lot of times it is cathartic to get words down, so when something I’ve written affects a reader in a different way, or they get something totally different than what I was thinking, it astounds and pleases me.  I think as readers, we bring our own experiences to the written word, and for me it makes what I do that much more rewarding.
What can poetry teach us about life?
Poetry can teach us how to breathe in the moment.  savor the essence.  & let go
What is one of your favorite poems in the chapbook?
“I will tell you where it hurts” is one of the most vulnerable pieces I’ve written.  the most biographical in the collection.  after anger.  hurt.  disillusionment.  unasked and unanswered questions, all I wished to be known was where it hurt the most.

 

StacyMichelle pic

BIO
StacyMichelle’s poems have appeared in the Fall Line Review, the anthology: Brothers & Others, Stirring: A Literary Collection, and the anthology: Help Wanted Poets Please Apply. This is her secondchapbook collection. Her first, “dear Georgia. Mother is a Tornado” was published in 2014. StacyMichelle shares rough draft of poems and art work on her blog:
The Language We Speak

6 thoughts on “AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: StacyMichelle, Poet”

  1. Nikki, I can only say that featuring StacyMichelle is even more proof indicative of your good taste and character! So happy to see this author spotlighted and so proud to call her friend. I read. I weep. I marvel. I am inspired. Just love her to bits! Thank you from all of us, dare I be so bold 😉

Leave a Reply

