Doubting: A Daughter’s Poem

nikkiinblue

I am the great great grand daughter of
Reversed breath and dared visions…
Gulps of darkness
and wind drifts of honey tamed coagulated blood
with sounds heavy / held in hallow fields.
I let life stain my ashen legs
with streams of flowers and foul
Ball cramp symbols under the folds of my toes
So the scorpion trails are sensible to children’s eyes.

I re-member,
Great grandmother’s conversations with a pine tree snake
He feared her gray eyes as I did
So we both kept our distance / mesmerized with her patience to catch a fly.
She was magic
And one day I sold her show for a rollercoaster ride
And a tongue kiss
I bought it back with my grandmother’s apron
…the one smeared with fish scales and rabbit guts
now I pay $6.89 a pound for whiting fillets
it used to be free after an afternoon at the lake

I am still her granddaughter
And her mother’s great grand daughter
And her mother a great great sunrise before…
dreamt of me.

20 thoughts on “Doubting: A Daughter’s Poem”

  1. Beautiful. I love your simple words. They brought back memories of my great grandmother and her mother. My grandmother…and even my own mother, who I will call and tell “Thank you”.

Leave a Reply

