When We Arrived presents: Playin’ Dead & About You poems by DeDe “Brown Sugar Gumbo”

Playin’ Dead

GIRL! WHY DO YOU PLAY DEAD?

DON’T YOU KNOW THAT YOU GOT YOUR WHOLE LIFE AHEAD OF YOU?

YOU ARE A GORGEOUS WOMAN AND PEOPLE LOVE YOU TOO!

GIRL! WHY DO YOU PLAY DEAD? YOU LOOK LIKE YOU LOST A FRIEND!

OR MAYBE LIKE THE WORLD IS COMING TO AN END!

GIRL! WHY DO YOU PLAY DEAD? AS A FRIEND PLEASE TELL ME WHY!

GIRL! WHY DO YOU PLAY DEAD? I CAN’T STAND TO SEE YOU CRY!

 

SSSSHHHHHH!!! BE QUIET AND I’LL TELL YOU WHY!

 

IF I MOVE, HE’LL KNOW I’M NOT DEAD

THEN HE’LL COME BACK, AND KICK ME IN MY HEAD

I’VE SEEN MY LIFE PASS BY ONCE OR TWICE BEFORE

BUT I PLAYED DEAD THEN TOO, ‘CAUSE MY BODY WAS ALREADY SORE

I’LL PLAY DEAD AGAIN, AS LONG AS HE’S AROUND

‘CAUSE HE’S AT HIS BEST, AS LONG AS I AM DOWN

 

GIRL! WHY DO U PLAY DEAD? JUST GET BACK UP AND WALK AWAY!

WHERE’S YOUR FAITH IN GOD, YOU BETTER LEARN TO PRAY!

LET NO MAN TAKE FROM YOU WHAT GOD HAS ALREADY GIVEN

STAND UP, COME ALIVE, AND BE PROUD THAT YOU ARE LIVIN’!

ABOUT YOU

I USED TO THINK THAT I WAS A POET

AND THAT I HAD A TALENT,

BUT JUST DIDN’T KNOW IT

I USED TO THINK THAT I COULD WRITE DOWN HOW I FELT INSIDE

‘CAUSE I DIDN’T KNOW HOW TO SHOW IT…..

I USED TO THINK…ABOUT YOU….

YOU USED TO HAVE ME SPEAKING IN TONGUES

HAD ME EXPRESSING MY LOVE FOR YOU

IN MORE WAYS THAN JUST ONE

YOU HAD ME BELIEVING IN FAIRY TALES & DREAMS

CHASING RAINBOWS & POTS OF GOLD

AND ALL THOSE CHILDHOOD THINGS

I BELIEVED THAT JACK & JILL WERE HOLDING HANDS

AS THEY WENT UP THE HILL

AND SNOW WHITE AND HER PRINCE

ARE LIVING HAPPILY EVER, STILL

I BELIEVED THAT THE COW JUMPED OVER THE MOON

TO EXPRESS THAT HIS LOVE WAS TRUE

AND THE DISH RAN AWAY WITH THE SPOON

CAUSE THEY WERE IN LOVE TOO

I BELIEVED THAT ROSES WERE RED

BECAUSE THAT’S THE COLOR OF LOVE

AND VIOLETS WERE BLUE

BECAUSE OF THE SKY ABOVE

I BELIEVED THAT DREAMS STILL CAME TRUE

….BUT THAT WAS BEFORE I FELL IN LOVE…

THEN BACK OUT WITH YOU

dedebiopic2

When did you know you were a poet?

I knew I was a poet when my first poem was published on the front page of the “Spectrum”, a publication my humanities teacher submitted my poem to.  I was in the 8th grade. Writing poetry has since been an outlet for my happiness, depression, and pain.

Is there a difference between a spoken word artist and a poet?
Yes. To me spoken word is to poetry, as rap is to r&b.
What is your favorite local poetry spot?
Unfortunately Jacksonville doesn’t have many permanent venues for spoken word/poetry. A great local poet, Moses West, hosts “Cometry”, so I do try to attend those sets whenever possible.
BIO
Originally from Kansas City, Missouri, I am currently residing in Jacksonville, FL, and working on publishing my poetry book titled “BrownSuga Gumbo”. I am a Navy veteran & mother of two. I can be reached at msdee816@yahoo.com.

 

 

One thought on “When We Arrived presents: Playin’ Dead & About You poems by DeDe “Brown Sugar Gumbo””

Leave a Reply

