22:30 A.D.

If you could talk to one person from the past/present for one hour, who would it be?

benchbywater

I would take just one hour with you, Dad.

.03 minutes
and memorize your knuckles
and count the pace between your jokes
look at the stance of your earlobes

.18 minutes
allow the electricity to race through my veins as we touch hands
and allow my eyes to connect your pores that capture your
favorite after shave
attach the scent of your breath

.32 minutes
have you explain.
ask you the really tough questions
in this softly short period of time
tell you why I chose this place. next to this tree. I love silver dollar trees.

.45 minutes
answer more. give me more detail. this is when you’ll see yourself. and know I am so much of your explosive hustle.

.58 minutes
and then I’d let you see me cry for the first time ever. for two straight minutes. until your eyes that are mine meet again.

nikki skies for NATIONAL POETRY MONTH

6 thoughts on “22:30 A.D.”

    1. The magic of art. I gotta tell you, after I wrote it (and cried my eyes out) I felt slightly relieved. Perhaps my silent communication was reciprocated… just maybe. Trust me, I know it’s tough… try it. Write him a poem.

Leave a Reply

