Wisdom in Whispers and Roars (Life with an 8 year old “Black Girl Who Rocks!”) by Jolivette Anderson-Douoning

 

 

 

joliandnadja2

LIFE WITH AN 8 YEAR OLD GIRL Pt 1

My Daughter: Mom, are you going to tell me “No” every time I ask for something?

Me: I told your Daddy “yes”, just be grateful for that and leave me alone, I’m tired and I need a nap.

LIFE WITH AN 8 YEAR OLD GIRL pt. 2

MY DAUGHTER: Mom, are we are famous?

ME: Why do you keep asking me that question, why do you think I am famous? OH, wait, you said “we” so is it both of us that are famous?

MY DAUGHTER: Yes, WE are famous.

ME: REALLY? What makes “us” famous?

MY DAUGHTER: Because me and ________ typed your name into Google and there are pictures of you, your email address and lots of stuff so that means we are famous.

ME: Okay, so what am I suppose to do with this fame you say I have? How am I suppose to act? 

MY DAUGHTER: Well, first you have to wear high heels. THEN YOU HAVE TO get a dress to match the high heels. THEN you have to get a purse that matches the dress and the high heels. THEN you have to SMILE ALL THE TIME AND MAKE EVERY BODY LIKE YOU. THEN, you will need to get a BOYFRIEND.

ME: OH! So I am doing this fame thing wrong, huh? Well, I am glad you put me on the right path.

LIFE WITH AN 8 YEAR OLD pt. 3

MY DAUGHTER: Mommy, I am sad, because _________ doesn’t like me. He has a crush on another girl and I am MAD at him.

ME: Do you love yourself?

MY DAUGHTER: Yes

ME: Are you kind, loving, nice, beautiful on the inside and the outside?

MY DAUGHTER: (smiling) Yes.

ME: Then, the problem is NOT you, the problem is this little boy you like. He can’t see all those good and beautiful things about you. You see , EVERY HUMAN BEING HAS A LIGHT INSIDE OF THEM and sometimes, in some people, that light can be so bright that it blinds people from being able to see what is right in front of them. I think the little boy must be BLIND. It’s like he is blind when it comes to you. Not because you are doing anything wrong. You are so bright, so brilliant, you are blinding that little boy with all the goodness and love you have in you and YOU SHOULDN’T BE MAD AT A BLIND PERSON FOR WHAT THEY CAN’T SEE. We can go to the Dollar Store and buy his little ass some shades if you want, but we not gonna worry about him or nobody NOT LIKING US, OKAY?

MY DAUGHTER: Yes, mama. (still sad)

ME: I know you didn’t understand all of what I said, but ONE DAY you will. Until then, I got your back. Mama gonna always like you. I know you still hurting baby but it will be alright.

(we hug)
ME: (thinking) I WISH MY MAMA WOULD HAVE PLANTED THAT SEED IN ME WHEN I WAS 8 YEARS OLD — then again all is as it should be or I would not have the beautiful child I have today. Ase.

 
LIFE WITH AN 8 YEAR OLD GIRL pt. 4

MY DAUGHTER: Mama, I am getting bigger. And older.

ME: Yes, yes you are. One day you will be all grown up and out in the world doing great things!

MY DAUGHTER: (happily) Yep, all I need is my MENSTRUAL CYCLE and my MASTERS DEGREE and my …

ME: (mouth open, eyes wide, DEAF to the rest of her words, BUT PLEASED that she ready to tackle that which she CANNOT control and that which she CAN control)
joliandnadja
Jolivette Anderson-Douoning is an Interdisciplinary scholar whose research is grounded in the Humanities and Applied Professions disciplines. 
Also known as Jolivette Anderson ‘the poet warrior’, she is a Race and Culture Educator who uses “Third Space Theory” to develop teaching and learning experiences that facilitate greater understandings of Black cultural existence and experience in the United States.
She is a Phd student and research assistant in American Studies / Curriculum and Instruction at Purdue University. Her current research examines the purpose and relevancy of Black Cultural Centers between 1965 to 1995 and interrogates the future of BCC in a post – Obama United States of America. 
She has four recordings of poetry and prose: Love and Revolution UndergroundAt the End of a Ropein MississippiJolivette Live:A Bluesy Funk Life Cycle, and She Energy.
For bookings and additional information thepoetwarrior@icloud.com or DrJolly2015@gmail.com 

 

19 thoughts on “Wisdom in Whispers and Roars (Life with an 8 year old “Black Girl Who Rocks!”) by Jolivette Anderson-Douoning”

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Please find more of her work through her contact info at the end of the post. I’ll be back at your site so we will be “reading” each other 🙂

      1. Absolutely! Please find Jolivette on FB. She has a regular page and an artist page. Please let me know if you can’t find her. I believe she has a blog on google so let me know if you can’t find her on FB. I’ll connect you to her amazing artistry!

Leave a Reply

