diary: from here

Snapshot_20140213_2

Another day “from here” with snow still spread on our lawns and the kids are in the house with a major case of cabin fever. They are so desperate to get out of the house they are willing to go see “Frozen” at the movies. At their ages of 7, 9 and 11, cartoons are a complete waste of my money! They just need to get out! We have a little sunshine so the snow and ice should no longer be a threat on the roads. We are still now plagued with the frozen tree branches falling and breaking power lines. Please let us get through tomorrow…

I created a calendar for me to submit my new plays to contests, etc. My ten minute play, Son Unknown, about Virgil Ware has to get out into the world! The only thing preventing that is ME. Keeping it saved on my laptop under the folder “writings”. He has been a secret for too long! I have to get this script out there. If all works out, it will become a short film by the end of the summer. I get to sharpen my scriptwriting chops! That is what I studied my MFA for! Very exciting for me to be able to see this script come to life on stage as well as film 🙂

The film process will make me tell the story visually. With that, I am planning a 3 day trip to Birmingham, Montgomery, Selma and parts of the Delta in Mississippi. I need to record the trees and streets and some other visual clips that can be shown in the film. Last time I visited Mississippi, my short book came to fruition. What will come of this journey?…

Only I stand in the way of my works not being read in coffee shops, libraries and book stores. Move over Nik!

“You don’t have writer’s block, you just don’t want to tell the truth.” – Nikki Skies

Leave a Reply

